Monday, March 29, 2010


The city was founded by the British in 1892 by Sir Charles James Loyal for whom it was originally named Lyallpur (Lieutenant Governor of Punjab (1887-1892) in acknowledgement of his contributions in the process of colonization of the area). Prior to the British making the area into an urban center, it largely consisted of various villages. The city-center of Lyallpur (Faisalabad) was designed by Capt. Poham Young, C. I. E. to model the British Flag (Union Jack), with a large clock tower in the center and eight bazaars around the clock tower. The construction of various canals allowed the area to be irrigated. After the founding of the city, people were invited to the city with promises of land if they were to work it. This allowed the city to grow rapidly.
In 1977 the name of the city was changed to Faisalabad in honor of King Faisal of Saudi Arabia who had been assassinated.
Faisalabad is the third largest city in Pakistan. It has an estimated population of almost 2 million citizens. It is an important center for transport and production and is located in the Punjab province. Faisalabad is west of Lahore.


Hockey Stadium
Iqbal Stadium (Cricket Stadium)
Allama Iqbal Stadium
British Built Monuments
Clock Tower
Victoria Memorial Chowk
Railway Station built during British Rule
General Post Office
Old General Bus Stand
Jinnah Garden
Gattwala Forest Park
Company Park
Amusement Parks
Fun Land
University Town
Kalim Shaheed park
Truck Stand
T & T Office
Zila Council
Faisalabad Arts Council
Dry Port
Jahanger Murgh Pulao
Serena Hotel

No comments:

Post a Comment